Posted in Film Commentary

Review: How to Lose Friends and Alienate People

Hello everyone! I decided to review this movie mostly because I hadn’t seen it in a while and wanted to do something relatively fresh. I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season and is ready to deal with the “second-rate” holidays like Valentine’s Day and Groundhog’s Day, etc. Anyway, let’s get started!

The absolute best thing about this film has to be the cast. I don’t think you can do much better than putting Simon Pegg, Kirsten Dunst, Jeff Bridges, and Gillian Anderson in the same room. While this may seem like a group picked from a jar of names, they all work surprisingly well together and bring out the best in each other. I was honestly surprised at how well this cast worked together and would love to see Simon Pegg and Kirsten Dunst team up again in the future.

Alison and Sidney

On the point of acting though, I would like to point out Kirsten’s performance as especially rewarding to watch. No one can say this role is the most challenging she’s taken on, but you can tell she took the project seriously and she strongly delivers. I was highly impressed by the scene of her drunk after the break-up with Maddox (played by Danny Huston). Acting drunk is one thing I constantly see in film not being portrayed accurately, but Dunst absolutely nails it.

Alison Gets Drunk

While the cast works well for this movie, I’m not sure I entirely bought the story. With all of the antics that Sidney (Simon Pegg) commits while at Sharp’s Magazine it is nearly impossible to suspend disbelief when he only gets threatened with being fired, and it is an act of God that he ends up with any position of power within the company. I understand that this is a comedy, but the liberties taken with making sure the plot goes in Sidney Young’s favor are a bit too obvious for my taste.

Sidney and Sophie Fighting

Although the finer details of the plot were a bit too far-fetched for my taste, the overall story was quite relatable. Everyone wants their moment of fame and those who get it often realize it is not how they imagined it after all. Even aside from that, however, are the themes of unrequited love, troubled relationships with parents, feeling misunderstood in your new lot in life, etc. This movie is completely packed with situations we can all relate to which helps move the plot along during the scenes that aren’t entirely necessary.

Sidney Watching His Mother

The cast absolutely makes this film, but I can’t say it doesn’t have merit. This is a fun movie to watch on a night at home, but nothing you would insist all of your friends should see. It is entertaining but can also get a bit repetitive and requires a bit of patience. All in all, I’d say this film is one many will probably enjoy but not feel any need to watch again for a few more years.

Note:  I have decided not to include my favorite scenes anymore as they are becoming increasingly hard to find. Thus, I will be including the trailers at the end of my posts from now on.

Trailer: 

